International Association for Surgical Metabolism and Nutrition
Welcome by the President
Takashi Higashiguchi, Japan
President IASMEN

IASMEN, under the leadership of Professor Dileep N. Lobo (Past President and New Vice-President) and Professor Anders Thorell (Past Programme Chair and New President Elect) contributed successfully to the 47th World Congress of Surgery WCS 2017 (formerly named International Surgical Week ISW) held from 13-17 August 2017, at Basel, Switzerland.

IASMEN contributed to seven sessions, two of which were in collaboration with the International Society for Digestive Surgery (ISDS), two in collaboration with the International Association for Trauma Surgery and Intensive Care (IATSIC) and the International Society for Burn Injuries (ISBI), and one in collaboration with Federacion Latinoamericana de Chirugia (FELAC). The topics of the sessions included "Enhanced Recovery After Surgery (ERAS)", "Metabolic Surgery", "Current Challenges in Trauma Patient Management ", "Organ Failure in Trauma Patients" and  "ERAS/ACERTO Protocol, Meeting of Two Worlds".

The J. F. Patino Lecture was delivered by Professor I. Macdonald from UK on "Nutritional and Inflammatory Influences on Macronutrient Metabolism".  The Graham L. Hill Prize Session showcased the four best free papers submitted to IASME. A variety of papers were presented by young researchers and the standard was very high. The prize was won by Dr. Nianjana Tewari from UK for her paper entitled "Postoperative Inflammatory and Insulin Resistance in Relation to Body Composition, Skeletal Muscle Tissue: A Randomized Study".

Professor Dileep N. Lobo as President of IASMEN after two very successful years of providing leadership to the Society. The Society placed on record its gratitude to Professor Dileep N. Lobo for his leadership and wished him well for the future with his strong assist contentiously to IASMEN.  

The Executive Council has prioritized increasing the membership of IASMEN/ ISS/SIC and a major objective along with developing better communications with the constituent societies of ISS/SIC and regional societies dealing with surgical nutrition and metabolism. It is also looking into the possibility of introducing worldwide young surgeons and medical students at the next congress.

Takashi Higashiguchi
President of IASMEN

IASMEN Free Paper Prize at WCS 2017 in Basel, Switzerland

IASMEN Free Paper Prize (Graham L. Hill Research Prize)
The prize was given to the following presenter:

Presenting Author: Nilanjana Tewari, United Kingdom

Nilanjana Tewari 1,2,*, Sherif Awad 3, Frantisek Duska 2, Julian P. Williams 2, Andrew Bennett 1, Ian A. Macdonald 1, Dileep N. Lobo 1
1University of Nottingham, 2Nottingham University Hospitals NHS Trust, Nottingham, 3East Midlands Bariatric and Metabolic Institute, Derby Teaching Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust, Derby, United Kingdom